Kay Kappes Golden Shamrocks

The Kay Kappes Golden Shamrock Award is given to a staff member that supports the students of the College of Engineering, using the same criterion as used to define a Knight. The Golden Shamrock recipient should be an individual who has demonstrated leadership and service, contributed to the enhancement of student activities, and maintained a high level of character. Additionally, the Golden Shamrock recipient may be an individual who has acted as a mentor to one or more of the Knights-elect.

This award is named after Kay Kappes, former College of Engineering staff member, who demonstrated exemplary service and ever-lasting commitment to hundreds of students throughout her career. Many of the Knights’ legacies and traditions can be directly attributed to her work in the College. Kay passed away in August 2016: the Kay Kappes Golden Shamrock Award serves to celebrate her invaluable contributions to many generations of Knights.


2000Kay Kappes
2001Charles A. Henderson
2002Greg O. Larson
2003Angie Dimit
2003Dianne Jeffers
2004Sheryle Carpenter
2005Jeffrey Farlow-Cornell
2006Cindy Brya
2007Jeffrey Sands
2008Sally Stillwell
2009Dana Tempel
2010Belinda Barnhart
2011Kathy Plunk
2012Lynnell Lacy
2013Jennifer Ehrnthaller
2014Karen Hyman
2015Andrea Wynn
2016Patricia Simpson
2017Melissa Biehl
2018Laura Gerhold
2019Cynthia Jeanette Coleman
2020Gretchen Forman
2021Jen Sans
2022Stephanie Ott-Monsivais